RERA registration – Many states still mum over the implementation of rules

RERA registration – Many states still mum over the implementation of rules

The Central government gave an ultimatum to all the states to notify the Real Estate (Regulation & Development) Act (RERA) by 1st May 2017 and told all states to mandate developers to register their on-going projects with the RERA by 31st July 2017.

Unfortunately, most of the states including Assam, Goa, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Telangana and north-eastern states such as Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim and Tripura failed to ratify the RERA rules. While some of these states have drafted the RERA rules, most don’t have their version of the same.

States such as Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Odisha and Uttarakhand have notified RERA rules but, still don’t have the online portal for RERA registration & complaint filing and a regulatory authority.

States including Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra and Punjab have notified the RERA rules, appointed the regulatory authority and launched the online RERA portal. States such as Kerala, Rajasthan, Tamilnadu, Karnataka and Uttar Pradesh, launched their respective RERA portals, but have not officially appointed the permanent regulator.

Due to the failure of state government in implementing the RERA, the realtors and buyers are suffering a lot.

Recently, the state government of Goa announced an extension of three months for RERA registration of the project as the state failed to notify the RERA rules on time. The government of Telangana also said that the housing department will notify the RERA rules within a fortnight.

Well, the deadline is over and many states failed to notify the RERA within the same, now we have to see the next move from the central government. I still hope that the government will work in the favour of suffering home buyers, said Amrit Singh, a suffering home buyer.

Share with your friends